Conquering Heights and Needles: My Journey to Facing Fears (and Helping My Daughter Do the Same)

We all have fears. Some, like the fear of falling, might be ingrained in our very biology. Others, like a fear of public speaking, can develop over time. But the one thing that unites all fears is this: they have the power to hold us back.

Today, I want to talk about facing those fears, head-on.

For most of my life, heights sent shivers down my spine. The irony? I live on a beautiful hilltop, surrounded by trees that put on a breathtaking show every fall. The desire to capture that vibrant foliage on camera battled with my fear. One crisp autumn day, the photographer in me won. With a pounding heart and shaky legs, I climbed onto the roof. It wasn’t easy, but the photo I got (and the exhilarating sense of accomplishment) was worth it.

Another fear I’ve grappled with: needles. Let’s be honest, who truly enjoys them? But life throws them our way – childhood vaccinations, blood tests, you name it. While I wouldn’t say I’ve become best friends with needles, I’ve gone from full-blown panic to taking a deep breath and getting it done.

Now, the tables are turned. I’m the parent, and my daughter is facing her own fear – the dark. We aren’t taking the easy route of leaving a nightlight on. Instead, we’re having open conversations about her fear, exploring its roots, and teaching her calming techniques. Every night, I sit with her for a few minutes, talking softly until her fear subsides. It’s a small act, but seeing her determination to overcome this challenge fills me with immense pride.

Fear is a natural part of life, but it shouldn’t control us. By sharing my story and my daughter’s, I hope to inspire you to confront your fears, big or small. Remember, courage isn’t the absence of fear – it’s taking that step forward anyway.

So, what fears are you holding onto? What can you do today to start chipping away at them? And who in your life needs your support to face their own challenges? Let’s conquer those fears together, one brave step at a time.

Daily writing prompt
What fears have you overcome and how?

Discover more from Quirky Canvas: Life, Crafts & Chaos

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Discover more from Quirky Canvas: Life, Crafts & Chaos

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started